Smith tops OCRS vs. URSS Showdown at 81 Speedway

by John Rittenoure - PARK CITY, Kans. (May 22, 2021) - It was billed as Oklahoma vs. Kansas.

The Drive to Zero United Rebel Sprint Series presented by Mel Hambelton Ford combined forces with the Oklahoma based AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories / Oil Capital Racing Series IMCA Sprint Cars for a duel sanctioned event at 81 Speedway.

A total of 35 competitors entered competition, but it was Oklahoma veteran Danny Smith who came away with the $1,000 payday atop the 3/8’s mile Park City, Kansas oval for his 11th career OCRS victory.

Smith started outside front row in the 25-lapper and went the distance to win over URSS regular Jordan Knight. Another veteran campaigner, Danny Wood of Norman, raced to a third place finish racing with OCRS while URSS regulars Jeremy Huish and Kyler Johnson finished fourth and fifth. Whit Gastineau charged from 12th starting to finish sixth ahead of Tanner Conn and Alison Slaton. Defending URSS champion Zach Blurton settled for ninth and Oklahoman Kyle Clark earned hard charger honors coming from 17th to 10th after finishing second in the first B main.

AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA points leader Casey Wills missed qualifying for the A-Main for the first time this season with a fifth place in the first B-Main, but managed to maintain his points lead over Wood by a slim 26 point margin.

It was also a tough night for defending champion Zach Chappell who saw his night end early with a ninth place B-Main finish.

The AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Cars return to action is a big way next weekend with a thee nights of racing over the Memorial Day weekend. The series travels to Caney Valley Speedway on Friday, moves to Creek County Speedway on Saturday then closes out the holiday weekend at Longdale Speedway on Sunday.

AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Results

81 Speedway, Park City, Kans.

May 22, 2021

AmeriFlex Hose Accessories A-Main (25 Laps): 1. 5$-Danny Smith[2]; 2. 10-Jordan Knight[6]; 3. 55W-Danny Wood[4]; 4. 88J-Jeremy Huish[3]; 5. 45X-Kyler Johnson[1]; 6. 2C-Whit Gastineau[12]; 7. 78-Tanner Conn[7]; 8. 6-Alison Slaton[5]; 9. 11-Zach Blurton[13]; 10. 9$-Kyle Clark[17]; 11. 5-Joe Bob Lee[15]; 12. 98-JD Johnson[16]; 13. 74-Connor Atkinson[10]; 14. 88-Terry Easum[11]; 15. 20-Shon Pointer[19]; 16. 32K-Chris Kelly[18]; 17. 33-Koby Walters[9]; 18. 11K-Tyler Knight[20]; 19. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[14]; 20. 15-Jase Randolph[8]

Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main 1 (12 Laps): 1. 5-Joe Bob Lee[2]; 2. 9$-Kyle Clark[4]; 3. 20-Shon Pointer[5]; 4. 21X-Taylor Velasquez[6]; 5. 31-Casey Wills[1]; 6. 911-Ty Williams[11]; 7. 30J-Larry Bratti[3]; 8. 5X-Paul Johnson[10]; 9. 50Z-Zach Chappell[8]; 10. 14-Matt Cash[7]; 11. 17X-Jon Freeman[9]

Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main 2 (12 Laps): 1. 98-JD Johnson[5]; 2. 32K-Chris Kelly[7]; 3. 11K-Tyler Knight[1]; 4. 17-Todd Plemons[2]; 5. 17S-Chad Salem[4]; 6. 15P-Jack Potter[8]; 7. 55-Kenny Potter[9]; 8. 33K-Aaron Ploussard[3]; 9. 22M-Rees Moran[6]; 10. 31M-Eric Matthews[10]

Schure Built Suspension Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 5$-Danny Smith[2]; 2. 6-Alison Slaton[3]; 3. 74-Connor Atkinson[5]; 4. 17-Todd Plemons[7]; 5. 30J-Larry Bratti[6]; 6. 14-Matt Cash[1]; 7. 17X-Jon Freeman[4]

Lightning Wings Powder Coating Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 45X-Kyler Johnson[2]; 2. 33-Koby Walters[3]; 3. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[4]; 4. 17S-Chad Salem[1]; 5. 33K-Aaron Ploussard[6]; 6. 21X-Taylor Velasquez[7]; 7. 31M-Eric Matthews[5]

Smith Titanium Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 78-Tanner Conn[1]; 2. 10-Jordan Knight[4]; 3. 5-Joe Bob Lee[3]; 4. 2C-Whit Gastineau[7]; 5. 9$-Kyle Clark[6]; 6. 32K-Chris Kelly[5]; 7. 911-Ty Williams[2]

Car Fleet Parts Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 88J-Jeremy Huish[2]; 2. 11-Zach Blurton[1]; 3. 88-Terry Easum[5]; 4. 11K-Tyler Knight[6]; 5. 22M-Rees Moran[3]; 6. 50Z-Zach Chappell[4]; 7. 55-Kenny Potter[7]

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 15-Jase Randolph[2]; 2. 55W-Danny Wood[6]; 3. 31-Casey Wills[4]; 4. 20-Shon Pointer[1]; 5. 98-JD Johnson[5]; 6. 15P-Jack Potter[3]; 7. 5X-Paul Johnson[7]

About the AmeriFlex / OCRS Series -

Established in 2002, the Tulsa OK based AmeriFlex / OCRS series sanctions dirt track sprint car racing in the southern region of the central plains. Fan appeal and quality race teams, combined with our solid core of supporting sponsors are the nucleus of the series. Thrilling competition providing the ultimate quality family entertainment is the essence of what the AmeriFlex / OCRS series is all about.



About Ameri-Flex Hose & Accessories -

Located in Tulsa OK, AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories is a family owned and operated company. From food grade hose to hoses for the petroleum industry, Ameri-Flex will strive to fill your needs. AmeriFlex can build a hose to your specifications or we will assist you in creating what you have designed while you wait. Ameri-Flex has several hard to find items that some vendors can’t get or find. Product can be shipped quickly and efficiently. If we do not have what you are looking for, we will direct you on where to find it. Give us a try, after all…………..

AmeriFlex Has The Stuff That Keeps You Going!


AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Contingency Sponsors

AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories, Hoosier Tires, Amsoil, Car and Fleet Parts, Smith Titanium, lightning Wings and Powder Coating, Schure Built Suspensions.

2 views0 comments