Sewell becomes first OCRS repeat winner

by John Rittenoure - SALINA, Okla. (May 8, 2021) - Alex Sewell took the early lead away from pole sitter Whit Gastineau and became the seasons first repeat AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA feature winner Saturday at Salina Highbanks Speedway.

The 2018 series champion led most of the way around the high banked 3/8’s mile oval while a battle raged behind him for second. Casey Wills, Gastineau, Ty Williams were battling till a red flag waved after 11 laps.

That changed the complexion of the race. Steven Shebester worked his way into second with Gastineau holding on to third. Jase Randolph finished fourth and Jake Martens ended up where he started with fifth place.

AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Results

Salina Highbanks Speedway

May 8, 2021

A-Main 25 Laps | 00:25:42.000 | AmeriFlex Hose and Accessories

1. 8-Alex Sewell[2]; 2. 16S-Steven Shebester[4]; 3. 2C-Whit Gastineau[1]; 4. 15-Jase Randolph[3]; 5. 91-Jake Martens[5]; 6. 5$-Danny Smith[11]; 7. 5-Joe Bob Lee[8]; 8. 55W-Danny Wood[15]; 9. 31-Casey Wills[6]; 10. 88-Terry Easum[17]; 11. 26M-Fred Mattox[14]; 12. 77-Dean Drake Jr[12]; 13. 6-Alison Slaton[10]; 14. 22T-Frank Taft[18]; 15. 50-Cody Whitworth[19]; 16. 62-James Shoun[20]; 17. 911-Ty Williams[9]; 18. 9$-Kyle Clark[13]; 19. 4-Josh Poe[16]; 20. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[7]

B-Main 12 Laps

1. 55W-Danny Wood[11]; 2. 4-Josh Poe[7]; 3. 88-Terry Easum[10]; 4. 22T-Frank Taft[4]; 5. 50-Cody Whitworth[9]; 6. 62-James Shoun[2]; 7. 2L-Brandon Leland[13]; 8. 14-Matt Cash[5]; 9. 29N-Larry Neighbors[3]; 10. 22C-Charlie Crumpton[6]; 11. 30X-Larry Bratti[8]; 12. 50Z-Zach Chappell[12]; 13. 55-Johnny Kent[1]

Heat 1 8 Laps | 00:05:05.000 | Schure Built Suspensions

1. 15-Jase Randolph[1]; 2. 91-Jake Martens[2]; 3. 8-Alex Sewell[9]; 4. 77-Dean Drake Jr[5]; 5. 62-James Shoun[4]; 6. 22T-Frank Taft[3]; 7. 14-Matt Cash[6]; 8. 30X-Larry Bratti[8]; 9. 55W-Danny Wood[7]

Heat 2 8 Laps | 00:04:27.000 | Lightning Wings & Powder Coating

1. 16S-Steven Shebester[2]; 2. 5-Joe Bob Lee[1]; 3. 5$-Danny Smith[3]; 4. 26M-Fred Mattox[4]; 5. 911-Ty Williams[8]; 6. 9$-Kyle Clark[9]; 7. 4-Josh Poe[5]; 8. 50-Cody Whitworth[7]; 9. 50Z-Zach Chappell[6]

Heat 3 8 Laps | 00:07:33.000 | Smith Titanium

1. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[1]; 2. 2C-Whit Gastineau[5]; 3. 31-Casey Wills[4]; 4. 55-Johnny Kent[3]; 5. 6-Alison Slaton[8]; 6. 29N-Larry Neighbors[9]; 7. 22C-Charlie Crumpton[6]; 8. 88-Terry Easum[7]; 9. 2L-Brandon Leland[2]

About the AmeriFlex / OCRS Series -

Established in 2002, the Tulsa OK based AmeriFlex / OCRS series sanctions dirt track sprint car racing in the southern region of the central plains. Fan appeal and quality race teams, combined with our solid core of supporting sponsors are the nucleus of the series. Thrilling competition providing the ultimate quality family entertainment is the essence of what the AmeriFlex / OCRS series is all about.



About Ameri-Flex Hose & Accessories -

Located in Tulsa OK, AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories is a family owned and operated company. From food grade hose to hoses for the petroleum industry, Ameri-Flex will strive to fill your needs. AmeriFlex can build a hose to your specifications or we will assist you in creating what you have designed while you wait. Ameri-Flex has several hard to find items that some vendors can’t get or find. Product can be shipped quickly and efficiently. If we do not have what you are looking for, we will direct you on where to find it. Give us a try, after all…………..

AmeriFlex Has The Stuff That Keeps You Going!


AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Contingency Sponsors

AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories, Hoosier Tires, Amsoil, Car and Fleet Parts, Smith Titanium, lightning Wings and Powder Coating, Schure Built Suspensions.

4 views0 comments