McCarthy Inherits Valley Victory Following Seavey's Misfortune

Grain Valley, MO - In what was an eventful POWRi Lucas Oil National and West Midget League feature event, Ace McCarthy inherits the victory to go two-in-a-row following Logan Seavey's disqualification at the scales for being light.  McCarthy's Valley Victory is the third of his career.  

At the beginning of the feature, polesitter Emerson Axsom took the early lead over second place starter Trey Gropp, as the field jockeyed for position on back.  With several yellows as the drivers worked various lines on the high-banked Valley Speedway, a blanket could be thrown over positions second through fourth as last night's winner, Ace McCarthy, Zach Daum, and Trey Gropp all fought for runner-up.  

Shortly before halfway, McCarthy slid past Axsom for the top position.  In what was nearly an identical display from last night, McCarthy ran the bottom in one and two, but took to the top side in three and four.  As McCarthy led, Michael Buddy Kofoid moved past Axsom for the second position and set his sights on McCarthy.  

All Kofoid needed was a caution and he received just that after Kade Morton stalled in turn two.  On the restart, Kofoid charged past McCarthy for the lead and looked to have the field covered.  Meanwhile, Logan Seavey had entered the top three from 17th and was knocking on the door for second.  Just a few short laps later, Seavey moved past McCarthy for second.  

As a caution bunched the field back up, Kofoid led the field back to action, only to clip the front stretch wall one lap later as he approached the white flag, taking a tumble down the front stretch bringing out the open red.  Inheriting the lead due to Kofoid's misfortune, Seavey crossed the line over Ace McCarthy.  

But due to being light at the scales, Ace McCarthy inherits the win, with current POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League points leader, Jake Neuman taking second, with Emerson Axsom in third. Daison Pursley finished fourth with Andrew Felker in fifth.  

"It's awesome," commented Ace McCarthy.  "Two in a row, that's a first for us to have to have two wins in the same year.  I hate for it to come like that, for Logan not to weigh enough.  That's tough, but we'll take it.  We're going to build off this and hopefully this is just a small glimpse into what we're going to have the rest of the year."

"I got lucky Cannon messed up a few times and that helps with the points lead," said Jake Neuman.  "We're points racing and running consistently and getting top five finishes every night, that's what we're after."  

"We finished consistently this weekend," stated Emerson Axsom.  "With a sixth, sixth, and a third, hopefully we can carry this momentum through the rest of the year.  It has been a big confidence booster.  In trying to run for the POWRi points championship and Rookie of the year, we need runs like this to go after those."


Auto Meter Heat 1 Winner: 9 - DAISON PURLSEY

KSE Racing Products Heat 2 Winner: 28 - ACE MCCARTHY

Advanced Racing Suspensions Heat 3 Winner: 19M - ETHAN MITCHELL

Schoenfeld Headers Heat 4 Winner: 15 - EMERSON AXSOM

Racing Electronics Heat 5 Winner: 5D - ZACH DAUM

PAC Schroeder Torsion Bars High Point: 15 - EMERSON AXSOM

Rod End Supply Semi-Feature 1: 19AZ - LOGAN SEAVEY

TRD Hard Charger: 44S - ANDREW FELKER

Lucas Oil Feature Winner:  28 - ACE MCCARTHY

POWRi Lucas Oil National & West Midget League Feature Results (30 laps): 1. 28 - ACE MCCARTHY  2. 3N - JAKE NEUMAN  3. 15 - EMERSON AXSOM  4. 9 - DAISON PURLSEY  5. 44S - ANDREW FELKER  6. 5D - ZACH DAUM  7. 21K - EMILIO HOOVER  8. 7M - CHANCE MORTON  9. 72 - SAM JOHNSON  10. 26 - TRISTIN THOMAS  11. 84M - KADE MORTON  12. 71 - KAYLEE BRYSON  13. 7U - KYLE JONES  14. 97K - BRENHAM CROUCH  15. 97 - JESSE LOVE  16. 71K - CANNON MCINTOSH  17. 67 - BUDDY KOFOID  18. 08 - NOAH GASS  19. 49 - JOE B MILLER  20. 00 - TREY GROPP  21. 19A - HAYDEN REINBOLD  22. 19M - ETHAN MITCHELL  23. 3B - SHELBY BOSIE  24. 19AZ - LOGAN SEAVEY, DQ

For further information, visit, "Like" POWRi on Facebook and follow @POWRi_Racing on Twitter.  Catch each night's LIVE action via subscription broadcast from POWRi.TV at  

Photo Credits: Ryan Black

4 views0 comments