Mario Clouser Goes Back-to-Back in Victories at Lucas Oil Speedway

Wheatland, MO. (09/18/2020) Fresh off the great racing action of the previous night the POWRi Lucas Oil Wingless Auto Racing League would again flood the pits of Lucas Oil Speedway for Night Two of the Tenth Annual Jesse Hockett Daniel McMillin Memorial with 59 entrants logging in to do battle at the "Diamond of the Dirt Tracks" in Wheatland Missouri. After a litany of early on-track feats, Mario Clouser would again find the fastest route around the raceway, earning the feature victory on the night.

Setting the top time in the hot-lap sessions with a 15.195 second lap time Riley Kreisel would appear to be in fine form for the evening early. Six heat races were required with Terry Richards, Casey Shuman, Jack Wagner, Wyatt Burks, Landon Simon, and Garret Aitken all earning the early wins. As the top forty in passing points from the heat races would move into four qualifiers; Wyatt Burks, Riley Kreisel, Anthony Nicholson, and Garrett Aitken would each win their qualifiers. The top sixteen in passing points would lock-in to the feature event with the remaining field falling into three semi-feature events. B-Feature action would be won by Brian Beebe, Wesley Smith, and RJ Johnson with the top-two finishers from each advancing on into the twenty-five-lap main event for Night Two of the 10th Annual Jesse Hockett Daniel McMillin Memorial.

Earning the high-point qualifier award and a pole starting position for the second night in a row #32 Garrett Aitken would be flanked on the front row by #5c Colten Cottle leading the field to the initial launch at the green-flag start. Colten Cottle would take the most speed entering the first corner, cruising to the point for the opening lap. With Cottle leading the pack the laps would tick away caution-free for the first fifteen revolutions.

As a mid-race caution bunched the field back up on the restart, the previous night's winner Mario Clouser #6 would make his way through the pack from a fifth starting spot to grab the lead from Cottle using an inside line maneuver. Clouser would lead the remaining laps without problems earning his second feature victory in as many nights, claiming his third POWRi WAR feature victory of the season. Casey Shuman #24 would show no signs of any rust behind the wheel, with an outstanding runner-up finish. Garrett Aitken would be in mix upfront all event rounding out the podium placements. One-time leader Cottle would finish out the event in fourth place as a late surging #11w Wyatt Burks would fly into finishing fifth.

Heading into the final night of the Tenth Annual Jesse Hockett Daniel McMillin Memorial at Lucas Oil Speedway, the top eight competitors from the previous two nights finishing positions points combined will be locked into the feature event with every other driver having to earn their way in the event through either qualifier racing or semi-feature competitions. Drivers locked in and starting in the first four rows will be #6 Mario Clouser, #32 Garrett Aitken, 11w Wyatt Burks, #24x Casey Shuman, #31 Joe B Miller, #37 Brian Beebe, #16 Anthony Nicholson, and #91 Riley Kreisel.

Hinchman Racewear Top Hot-Lap Time: #91 Riley Kreisel - 15.195 second lap time.

Schure Built Suspensions Heat Race 1 Winner: #18 Terry Richards

Auto Meter Heat Race 2 Winner: #24x Casey Shuman

KSE Racing Products Heat Race 3 Winner: #77 Jack Wagner

Advanced Racing Suspensions Heat Race 4 Winner: #11w Wyatt Burks

Schoenfeld Headers Heat Race 5 Winner: #24 Landon Simon

AFCO Heat Race 6 Winner: #32 Garrett Aitken

Bell Racing Helmets Qualifier Winners: #11W Wyatt Burks, #91 Riley Kreisel, #16 Anthony Nicholson, #32 Garrett Aitken

Mesilla Valley Transportation Semi-Feature Winners: #37 Brian Beebe, #12 Wesley Smith, #77M RJ Johnson

TRD High Point Qualifier: #32 Garrett Aitken

Racing Electronics Hard Charger: #311 Quinton Benson (22nd to 12th)

Lucas Oil Feature Winner: #6 Mario Clouser

Feature Results from Lucas Oil Speedway with the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint League: (25 Laps) 1. 6-Mario Clouser[5]; 2. 24X-Casey Shuman[3]; 3. 32-Garrett Aitken[1]; 4. 5C-Colten Cottle[2]; 5. 11W-Wyatt Burks[6]; 6. 91-Riley Kreisel[9]; 7. 28-Kory Schudy[11]; 8. 31-Joe B Miller[16]; 9. 16-Anthony Nicholson[7]; 10. 8D-Terry Babb[8]; 11. 33M-Matt Westfall[15]; 12. 311-Quinton Benson[22]; 13. 5D-Zach Daum[13]; 14. 12-Wesley Smith[19]; 15. 37-Brian Beebe[17]; 16. 77M-RJ Johnson[18]; 17. 77K-Katlynn Leer[14]; 18. 74-Xavier Doney[21]; 19. 22S-Slater Helt[12]; 20. 73-Samuel Wagner[23]; 21. 24-Landon Simon[4]; 22. 77-Jack Wagner[10]; 23. 9W-Justin Zimmerman[20]

Next up for the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint League will be the grand finale at Lucas Oil Speedway for the tenth annual running of the Jesse Hockett/ Daniel McMillin Memorial on Saturday, September 18th.

Follow along for more information such as race recaps, updates, full results, and press releases online at, or on Twitter & Instagram at @POWRi_Racing or on Facebook at POWRi. POWRi League rules, contingencies, forms, and payouts can be found under the info tab at the top of the POWRi website.

1 view0 comments