Kent regains lead just in time to claim opening night AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA win at Red Dirt Raceway

Photo by Richard Bales

By John Rittenoure - MEEKER, Okla. (March 6, 2021) - Johnny Kent gave up the early lead then regained it just in time to win the 2021 AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Sprint Car season opener during night 1 of the Red Dirt Raceway Spring Nationals on Saturday.

For the first time the AmeriFlex / OCRS series raced under the sanction of IMCA and a total of 42 competitors turned out for the inaugural outing.

That did not slow down Kent who picked up his third OCRS career victory, but it almost did not happen.

Starting outside front row next to Dillon Laden, Kent jumped into the lap 1 lead on the Red Dirt quarter-mile before the yellow flag waved.

On the restart fourth starting Casey Wills roared past Kent for the lead. Kent kept pace with Wills throughout the 25-lapper hoping for a second chance. Opportunity presented itself in the final two laps and Kent went around Wills for the victory. Tyler Drueke of Eagle, Nebraska, and making his first start with OCRS, charged from eighth to finish third, Ty Williams was fourth, and veteran Danny Wood came from 14th to fifth.

Defending AmeriFlex / OCRS champion Zach Chappell was sixth over Zach Martin of Quinter, Kansas, Jase Randolph, who ran third early in the race, fell back to eighth, Andrew Deal finished ninth and Chris Kelly was the hard charger coming from 20th to finish 10th.

About the AmeriFlex / OCRS Series -

Established in 2002, the Tulsa OK based AmeriFlex / OCRS series sanctions dirt track sprint car racing in the southern region of the central plains. Fan appeal and quality race teams, combined with our solid core of supporting sponsors are the nucleus of the series. Thrilling competition providing the ultimate quality family entertainment is the essence of what the AmeriFlex / OCRS series is all about.



About Ameri-Flex Hose & Accessories -

Located in Tulsa OK, AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories is a family owned and operated company. From food grade hose to hoses for the petroleum industry, Ameri-Flex will strive to fill your needs. AmeriFlex can build a hose to your specifications or we will assist you in creating what you have designed while you wait. Ameri-Flex has several hard to find items that some vendors can’t get or find. Product can be shipped quickly and efficiently. If we do not have what you are looking for, we will direct you on where to find it. Give us a try, after all…………..

AmeriFlex Has The Stuff That Keeps You Going!


AmeriFlex / OCRS IMCA Results

Red Dirt Raceway

Spring Nationals

March 6, 2021

AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories A-Main (25 Laps) | 00:18:15.655 |

1. 55-Johnny Kent[2]; 2. 31-Casey Wills[4]; 3. 12-Tyler Drueke[8]; 4. 911-Ty Williams[6]; 5. 55W-Danny Wood[14]; 6. 50Z-Zach Chappell[9]; 7. 2J-Zach Martin[13]; 8. 15-Jase Randolph[5]; 9. 15D-Andrew Deal[18]; 10. 32K-Chris Kelly[20]; 11. 5$-Danny Smith[12]; 12. 88-Terry Easum[11]; 13. 9$-Kyle Clark[19]; 14. 2C-Whit Gastineau[3]; 15. 6-Alison Slaton[17]; 16. 18-Dillon Laden[1]; 17. 78-Tanner Conn[10]; 18. 27-Andy Shouse[16]; 19. 29S-Blake Scott[7]; 20. 5-Jesse Graham[15]

B Mains (Top 3 advance to A Main)

Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main 1 (12 Laps) | 00:13:57.760 |

1. 5-Jesse Graham[3]; 2. 6-Alison Slaton[1]; 3. 9$-Kyle Clark[5]; 4. 77-Dean Drake Jr[6]; 5. 21-Brandon Jennings[4]; 6. 22M-Rees Moran[11]; 7. 79-Tim Kent[2]; 8. 08-Bobby McIntosh[9]; 9. 14-Matt Cash[8]; 10. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[12]; 11. 25-Kyle Admire[10]; 12. 62-James Shoun[7]; 13. 6A-Abby Laden[13]; 14. 8-Austin Shores[14]

Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main 2 A (12 Laps) | 00:07:09.739 |

1. 27-Andy Shouse[1]; 2. 15D-Andrew Deal[3]; 3. 32K-Chris Kelly[6]; 4. 24-Craig Carroll[2]; 5. 5X-Jason Martin[13]; 6. 13-Ty Hanten[5]; 7. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[8]; 8. 22-David Stephenson[14]; 9. 83-Jett Hays[11]; 10. 32-Kolton Gariss[4]; 11. 22T-Frank Taft[12]; 12. 5B-Joe Bob Lee[9]; 13. 30X-Larry Bratti[7]; 14. 33K-JT Kelly[10]

Heats (Top 14 in passing points go to A Main)

Heat 1 8 Laps | 00:04:06.000 | Schure Built Suspensions

1. 18-Dillon Laden[3]; 2. 50Z-Zach Chappell[2]; 3. 5-Jesse Graham[1]; 4. 2J-Zach Martin[6]; 5. 9$-Kyle Clark[4]; 6. 21-Brandon Jennings[8]; 7. 22M-Rees Moran[5]; 8. 33K-JT Kelly[9]; 9. 22-David Stephenson[7]

Heat 2 8 Laps | 00:03:47.000 | Lightning Wings & Powder Coating

1. 12-Tyler Drueke[1]; 2. 2C-Whit Gastineau[6]; 3. 6-Alison Slaton[2]; 4. 27-Andy Shouse[5]; 5. 13-Ty Hanten[3]; 6. 5B-Joe Bob Lee[4]; 7. 32K-Chris Kelly[9]; 8. 22T-Frank Taft[7]; 9. 8-Austin Shores[8]

Heat 3 8 Laps | 00:12:00.000 | Smith Titanium

1. 55-Johnny Kent[4]; 2. 911-Ty Williams[3]; 3. 31-Casey Wills[7]; 4. 79-Tim Kent[5]; 5. 62-James Shoun[1]; 6. 30X-Larry Bratti[6]; 7. 08E-Elizabeth Phillips[2]; 8. 83-Jett Hays[8]

Heat 4 8 Laps | 00:04:56.000 | Car & Fleet

1. 15-Jase Randolph[2]; 2. 78-Tanner Conn[3]; 3. 5$-Danny Smith[4]; 4. 32-Kolton Gariss[1]; 5. 15D-Andrew Deal[7]; 6. 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[5]; 7. 08-Bobby McIntosh[8]; 8. 6A-Abby Laden[6]

Heat 5 8 Laps | 00:08:05.547 |

1. 29S-Blake Scott[1]; 2. 88-Terry Easum[2]; 3. 55W-Danny Wood[6]; 4. 24-Craig Carroll[5]; 5. 77-Dean Drake Jr[3]; 6. 14-Matt Cash[8]; 7. 25-Kyle Admire[7]; 8. 5X-Jason Martin[4]

6 views0 comments